We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,392)
Filter reviews
1,392 results
Traveller rating
842
377
102
37
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
842
377
102
37
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thirsty turtle vintage pearl garden cabana crab races movie night fire dancers live music cruise ship laid back fun activities west end great diving fish the wait staff front porch took great care lounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
769 - 774 of 1,392 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

my husband and i stayed at bananarama for the week of thanksgiving in november 2012. we had never tried diving before and wanted to get open water certified. i was a bit apprehensive about diving in general, but i got a good feeling from emailing w/ the dive shop manager, mal. he suggested we start with the "discover scuba" course to get a feel for diving and then decide whether to pursue the full open water course. this was a good suggestion in my opinion, the discover scuba class was a nice overall diving intro and it counted towards our open water certification.

our dive instructor was marc, and he was great. very patient and encouraging throughout the whole course. everyone we spoke to at bananarama (including both beginners and very experienced divers) were really enjoying the dives and had great things to say about all of the instructors/staff.

the bananarama resort is very casual and relaxing, which was exactly what we wanted. delicious food, friendly staff & bartenders, and a nice location on the island. the area can be a bit busy during the daytime but it definitely quiets down later at night. they had live music at the bar and fire dancers on the beach a few of the nights we were there, which was fun to watch.

we stayed in one of the garden rooms towards the back of the property (i think it was 11 or 12). the rooms are pretty basic and no-frills but we spent most of our time outside of the room anyway. our a/c unit worked fine but it rattled a bit which kept us up the first night, so we just turned it off & opened all the windows which kept us cool enough at night.

overall it was a great week and we really enjoyed our stay. whether you're looking for a place to try diving for the first time, or you have been diving for many years, i would highly recommend bananarama.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daddysgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Bananarama Dive Resort is a good place to go as long as you know exactly what to expect. We had their "Dive and Sizzle" package for 7 nights that included our room, 3 meals a day, and 10 dives...a great deal for $850 per person. The cabana we were in (#6) was at the back and very quiet. The room is small but clean and the bed is huge and comfortable. The shower head definately needs replacement. Some cabanas are near the compressor room or bar and can be noisy during the day or night. Food at the Happy Turtle, Vintage Pearl, and Pizzerama (all part of the resort) was very good and tasty. The dive shop is very organized and well run with plenty of equipment to rent if needed. The boats are not very comfortable...fiberglass with very little seating space but only take a maximum of 8 divers. Dive crew could be a little more helpful with assisting divers with their gear. Lots of dive sites within a 5-15 minute radius with beautiful corals (black, sponge, staghorn, brain, soft), very nice walls and swim throughs. Because of the cloud cover in the mornings the colors were washed out. We felt there were not a lot of fish and the water visibility was between 40-65 feet with a lot of particles in the water (perhaps because it rained every night.) Afternoons were sunny...maybe a better time to do 2 dives. NOTE: Cruise ships dock at Roatan 3-4 days a week and they are huge!! From 2,500 to 7,000 passengers!!! They bus the passengers to West Bay Beaches...and it is so crowded you can hardly find any room to sit (the beach is quite narrow.) The owners go out of their way to make sure you are happy and do whatever they can to accommodate you...a special thanks to Jeff. We chose to tip at the very end by leaving money in envelopes for our dive crew, restaurant staff, and maids. It was obvious that some of the staff thought they should be tipped after every meal/dive and we could sense a change in disposition when we didn't do this. Overall...you get a lot for your money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cece s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This was my second stay at Bananarama within 3 months, and will certainly will not be my last.The office staff made up of Sarah,Denise,Victoria and Danery go out of their way to make sure your stay is a great experience.The bar tenders Sandra, Angela,Steven,Edison and Zebby will make sure you enjoy yourself at the Thristy Turtle along with the best servers Roatan has to offer. Louis and Jeff (the owners along with their wives) make sure every thing is running smoothly. When you arrive and enter the office look to your left and you will see a very handsome picture with the words guest of the year 2012/2013 that will be me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We didn't stay at Banamarama, but we did hang out at Banamarama quite a bit. Great drink specials. Jessica took great care of us! Great pizza and drink special at lunch. Beach area is excellent. Make sure to catch the crab races and fire dancers on Sunday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank tanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Steven Raymond and Angela Rodenzo (aka. Baribie) took great care of us at the bar. The lunch we had was excellent!! time on the beach well spent and would love to go back!!!! The service was stellar and this is the place i have been raving about since being back home. find a nice spont under a palm tree and enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews