We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,397)
Filter reviews
2,397 results
Traveller rating
1,666
548
133
29
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,666
548
133
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palapa bar swiss chocolate steve mcqueen international buffet west end full kitchen fish through vrbo the general manager water taxi activities director the security guard washer and dryer dive shop bedroom villa all inclusive package main building
Filter
Updating list...
1,981 - 1,986 of 2,397 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Millville, Delaware
32
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I have been here 4 times and it gets better with every trip. The staff here is just so friendly and accommodating in every way. The resort itself is beautiful and very well kept. You are always seeing someone cleaning, weeding, raking the sand and cleaning the pool. It is one of the cleanest resorts we have been too and my husband and I have been to many islands and nothing compares to the beach, coral, view, resort and staff. While here you can get certified to dive and it is just amazing. You can do all of your classwork online before arriving and do your pool and open water dives upon arrival. Ricardo is amazing and a great instructor and I would request him for your certification. Tommy the sales manager goes out of his way to say hello to every guest and make them feel at home wether you own here or are just on vacation. He is so friendly and makes you feel like family. The GM Rick is always on location and he never says NO to any request you may have. Everyone here goes above and beyond to make your stay the set vacation you have ever had. We are really looking forward to the Spa opening later this year. It will really put this resort over the top. We will be coming here many many more times.

Tips to remember:
Bring small bills ($5, $10, $20) and ensure they are not ripped or torn because they will not accept them anywhere on the island.

Stop at Eldens on the way from the airport if you want groceries and the cost is about $25 for the taxi. If you take the Infinity Bay shuttle to the resort and go to the store later the cost is $40 for the taxi so you can save some money and time to stop on the way in.

Almost all restaurants on the island are open air so just be prepared on a hot evening to possibly be hot and sweaty. Infinity Bay will have an air conditioned restaurant hopefully by the end of March 2012 if not sooner...Hopefully sooner :)

Bring bug spray for the evening during the rainy season. They are not bad at all when it is not rainy season.

Your best flights will be Saturday to Saturday.

Las Rocas - has the BEST Pina Colada I have ever had in my life and the rum punch is just as amazing. During happy hour the drinks are BOGO :)

Vintage Pearl - is wonderful if you want an upscale/fine dining meal. The prices range from $25-$40 per person but is well worth EVERY penny!!

Beachers - has great drinks and food. The lobster was amazing as well as the seafood combo plate and the service and atmosphere is great.

Cell phones - Verizon cell phone service does not work but the resort has rental phones for a weekly rate or per day rate and it costs about .10 a minute to call anywhere in the world so this makes it great to stay in touch with people at home for a very cheap cost. AT&T does work on the island. I do believe if you have the global plan with Verizon your phone service will work.

There is WIFI in all rooms and also at the Palapa Bar or you can get an ethernet cable if you want a faster speed inside your condo.

Make sure you call the resort to schedule your airport pickup if you do not rent directly thru the resort (VRBO, home away, etc).

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions or need any other useful tips.

I have never felt more at home than I do here when we visit. Everyone here is like family and they always remember us when we return. You will truly feel like a VIP celebrity when you are here.

The New Years Eve party was OFF THE HOOK! The fireworks was amazing and the band rocked! It was a great way to ring in 2012!

Bottom line: you will not be disappointed when you come and I guarantee that you will be wanting to book your next trip here before you even depart the island! It is truly paradise!

TOMMY & RICK you do an AMAZING job and we look forward to spending our next 5 days here with you and will be back in March to see you again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed at Infinity Bay for 7 nights in Dec 2011. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, #405.

Below I've included some general thoughts that would have been helpful as we planned our trip to Roatan. But, let me start with Infinity Bay specifically. Infinity Bay consistently came up as a top rated "resort" on TripAdvisor but there were big differences between what I've experienced in other top rated "resorts" particularly a "Spa & Beach Resort". Some of the things I noted were:

This is the type of resort where the units are typically owned by individuals and rented via the resort or a management company. They have full, furnished kitchens and the general way people vacation here is to take a taxi to the grocery store, buy a bunch of groceries and cook/eat in the room for most of their meals. This explains a lot. For example, the resort restaurant is tiny (about 10 tables) and is on the beach with literally no building or walls. During the day families bring coolers down to the pool and beach filled with their own food, drinks, etc - if you sit at the pool/beach there aren't people walking by to take your order and bring you drinks and snacks. Food out of the restaurant is good, but the menu is very limited and because it's small it can easily get backed up and take a long time. I think this also explains why the resort has so many kids (1-8 years old). It's a pretty inexpensive way to take lots of kids on a trip because you can eat in the room - the room just below us had a couple and their 4 kids all under 8 and they were staying for 2 weeks.

The resort is on a beautiful stretch of the West Bay beach which is one of the best, if not *the* best, place to snorkel on the island. We snorkeled almost everyday and were blown away. We could swim 200 yds off the shore and the reef was only 20 feet below us and full of great sea life with crystal clear water. The down side is that the location is popular. There is a 5ish acre piece of land adjacent to the hotel property (that goes down to the beach) that is rented to the cruise ships and, on the days when cruise ships dock at Roatan, they literally bring bus loads of people (500+) who make that area their home for the day. The resort is pretty good about keeping their beach chairs for resort guests, but the beach itself is public and that many "cruisers" is quite an attraction for the local vendors selling everything from parasailing rides to sunglasses. We had cruise ships at the island at least 4 of the days we were there and one day the island had 3 cruise ships all at the same time. Needless to say, the beach area was packed.

It's also important to note that Infinity Bay shouldn't be called a "spa". From what I could see, they are in the middle of a big construction project for what will be their spa, but there is nothing even close to a spa or fitness center currently. There weren't even bathtubs in either of the two bathrooms in our unit.

All this said, the resort is probably one of the best, and best located, on the island. Just a $3 water taxi ride (less than 10 mins) to West End where there are lots of options for food. Just make sure you set expectations correctly.

Some of the other things we noted that might be helpful are:
- When we checked in we were handed a key and told "enjoy your stay". Not given a map of the property, etc.
- No concierge, although the front desk is willing to do what they can to help with stuff
-Wireless in room didn't work. They had a hard wire connection and loaned us a cable at the front desk.
- No DVD player in room, no TV in bedrooms, 1 TV in living room area (30" diag)
- No iPod connection, or sound system
- Furniture in our room was really worn. Master bed was very hard and we slept so bad the first 3 nights, we switched to the queen bed in the other room which turned out to be better.
- Walls in our room were scuffed and dirty
- Lots of little kids at the resort (ages 1 - 8)
- The dive shop was great. Very accommodating to do special trips and the dive masters were very knowledgeable (Tori was great).
- $3 water taxi ride (less than 10 mins) to West End. Very easy to catch a taxi.
- Big new building is under construction at entrance to resort. Once that"s built things may change quite a bit for the resort being called a "spa". They claimed "completion in early 2012".
- The big grocery store where people go is called "Eldon's" and it's about 20 mins taxi ride from resort. It's got plenty of selection of name brand stuff
- Great air conditioning in the room.
- Great appliances in room (fridge, stove, toaster, dishwasher, microwave)
- You would expect a lot of fresh fish and other seafood on the island, but it is actually hard to find. We found lots of fried stuff - consistently at most every restaurant. Finding fresh, grilled seafood was by far the exception.
- It rained every day we were there and was cloudy off and on during the day. The sun came out most days for a while, but it was definitely not sunshine all day - this was a function of the time of year.

General Roatan Thoughts - I consider my wife and myself to be seasoned international travelers, but this was our first trip to Honduras. There are a few things that we wish we would have known when planning our travel as a means of setting our expectations if nothing else.

Roatan is a pretty raw, undeveloped island with poor infrastructure. This bodes well for the natural experiences such as the diving and snorkeling which are absolutely amazing - even just walking off the hotel's beach we found unbelievable snorkeling and my scuba trips never took more than 15 minutes to arrive via boat. However, in terms of amenities surrounding the natural beauty, it's unimpressive. There are no brand name hotels that we saw, and there are no brand name chains that we recognized outside of a single Wendy's and Applebee's (not even a Starbucks). I realize folks don't generally want to eat at those place when they vacation, but my point is that while this sounds romantic you have to understand that what Roatan might call a "Spa & Beach Resort" is not going to be anywhere near what you would find called by that name in Hawaii, Greece, or even Costa Rica. There isn't a Four Seasons, a Ritz or even a stoplight on the entire island. The main road on the biggest tourist part of the island (West End) where the majority of the restaurants are, is a dirt road. The Roatan people are *very* kind and everyone smiles and is happy to sit and talk, but their infrastructure is years behind.

That said, we wanted to escape to an island retreat and relax a bit over the holidays. We used TripAdvisor extensively to find the top rated "resorts" and "restaurants" and "things to do". Frankly we were underwhelmed by most everything man-made we experienced and the ratings need a calibration so folks have the right expectation. For example the #1 rated "restaurant" in West End is a bar that serves a very limited menu and is mainly a gathering place for locals to have drinks, build a fire on the beach and watch the sunset. Yes, it's fabulous, but not what I was expecting for the #1 rated restaurant. We repeatedly ran into these kinds of things and eventually resorted to talking with people who had clearly spent a lot of time on the island and could help us find the types of things we were looking for. I just don't think the island has evolved to the level of luxury that is common in many other areas. That's part of the allure but something I feel like people should know as they set their expectations. We've reviewed (here on TripAdvisor) the other places we found so feel free to look those up if you are interested (Vintage Pearl was a great dining experience).

Room Tip: The resort consists of two big buildings that run perpendicular to the beach. The buildings contain towers 1-9 and 10-19+. The lower numbers are closer to the beach. In other words, in the first building the tower closest to the beach is #1, in the second building the tower closest to the beach is #10.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank ForrJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick2959, General Manager at Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear ForrJohn,

Infinity Bay is thankful for the time you have taken to craft such a detailed review of your experience while here in Roatan.

We are a condo-resort with a significant inventory (largest on the island) of one, two and three bedroom villas available in the rental pool. The villa inventory, restaurant, activity center and beach is managed just like any other successful resort or branded hotel would be.
The rooms do have state of the art kitchens which include granite counters and stainless steel appliances. We do manage the resort with a thoughtful set of rules which includes no coolers or private food and beverage anywhere at the pool area – occasionally when its very busy somebody may slip though but far from the norm.

Our beachfront palapa bar and restaurant is very popular, does an exceptional business and has been recognized by many industry experts. There are 15 tables and we have the ability to add another 10 if business level warrants. There are over 30 items on the menu and we offer delicious and creative specials everyday for lunch and dinner. Reservations are accepted.

We are glad you enjoyed the world class snorkel we have right on our beach. Last week Caribbean Traveler voted West Bay beach one of the top 10 destinations for snorkeling in the entire Caribbean.

Roatan offers some of the best service you will find in the Caribbean and the local Hondurans are anxious to ensure you have a wonderful experience and return to paradise. It is true we are not a destination populated with franchises and all the familiar sites you might see in Greece, Hawaii or New York. We are considered one of best kept secrets in the Caribbean which won’t be lasting long. Airlines are looking at increasing routes and all the major hotel chains have their eye on Roatan.

We would love tp see you back soon – if you’re a golfer, the Central American open is being hosted at the Black Pearl (Pete Dye designed) world class golf course right here in Roatan in early March. This course is a real site to see…..a view of Caribbean Sea from every shot on the course – unless you’re in the rough.

Again thank you so much and next time you’re here please allow me to take you on a personal tour.

All the best!

Rick Kolinsky
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Arriving in Roatan on 12/24/11, with the first stop being Infinity Bay. It was as advertised online, in feedback and blogs. The location is right on the beach. It is about 20 minutes from the airport and Infinity will pick you up as long as you notify them of your arrival. You do not need to stop for groceries unless you plan to eat in most meals. There is a quaint shop right at the entrance of infinity for your immediate needs, chocolate, alcohol, laundry detergent, sunscreen etc. The hotel is on the beach with the best walk in snorkeling I have ever experienced. See my dive review of TGI as well. The rental was done through VBRO, unit 701. The hotel is still new and in progress as the spa, reception, fitness, convention center is still under construction. The pool and grounds are well maintained and very nice. The room was spacious, clean and safe. This is a great place, but slightly above traditional spend.

Room Tip: Rooms start near the beach as 1X moving back away from the beach. 7 is right past the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at Infinity Bay in condo unit # 403 for 2 weeks this year. The condo was very well furnished, spacious with 2 big bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Located on the second floor this has ocean view and great pool view as well. The condos have steps and an elevator. Infinity Bay is without a doubt the best place on the island to stay at, employees very very nice and helpful, the infinity pool sits right in the middle and is right on the beach. Great bar and restaurant on sight. Many activities were available to us right there along with amazing snorkeling and scuba diving. The beach is beautiful with many restaurants walking distance from the condo, food is good and many places offer great entertainment at night. This place is great for relaxing on a romantic getaway or to have fun with the whole family. Can't wait to go back again, Roatan rocks !!

Room Tip: Look no further then Unit #403.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rbouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

My girlfriend and I were there during construction of a facility that will house a gym, restaurant and spa which wasn't the greatest sight when walking into the resort. I can't knock the resort itself for trying to expand, just noting that I'm sure it'll be nicer looking down the line. As for the rest of Infinity Bay, the condos are quite nice and rooms are very modern looking (especially the kitchen.)

It sits in a great location when it comes to the beach, but not so great if you're looking for something to do outside of beach/water activities. There are a few food options, but all are fairly similar and also relatively expensive (it's a resort area.)

One thing that was quite disturbing was the influx of cruise ship participants who used the resorts as their personal party spot. There all of a sudden was a bunch of kids who seemed pretty young getting hammered at the bar. As the night went on, I was able to hear people stumbling around outside in the courtyard, near our room and also surrounding rooms. The room above us sounded like they were playing drinking games and that didn't end til 3AM. Instead of being an expensive resort, it felt like it turned into a cheap party motel.

The condo was nice and I can't complain about that. It just didn't feel like a resort that was worth the money paid. It had a full kitchen, but no knives to actually make food with and the pots/pans were worn down. The cleaning service was inconsistent as one time, they came in and just swept while other cleaning personnel mopped. We also didn't receive clean face towels after they collected our old towels.

If you expect good wifi coverage, try again. Wifi was non-existant inside our condo, get a cat5 cable and hardwire your connection if you have a laptop (the one they provide is very short and limited me to one confined spot to use the internet.) The people there were nice for the most part, the resort just wasn't what we were expecting.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gixx0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews