We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfaction Guaranteed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We returned from Mango Bay on October 1st 2012, having spent two fabulous weeks at this resort. Everything from check in to check out was as near perfection as is humanly possible. Other reviewers have mentioned the rum punch at check in, and the quality of the food on offer, I can confirm that the food on offer is second to none, with every dish cooked to order, and wonderfully presented, most lunch and dinner times. The only exception being Wednesday and Friday, when a buffet is on offer,but still has sumptuous steaks barbecued to your liking. In the two weeks we stayed, I do not remember the menu being repeated on any occasion .Breakfast is serve yourself with different types of cereal, fresh fruit, fruit juices, jam and marmalade,yoghourt, meats and cheese, along with the usual bacon, sausage. beans, hash browns, scrambled egg. And even at breakfast, a chef is attendance to freshly cook fried, boiled or poached eggs and even omelettes, with a variety of fillings. As others have mentioned, the hotel is of a smaller size, but this adds to it`s charm, as all the staff, including the manager (who circulates the hotel at least once daily to speak with staff and guests) gets to know everyone much more personally than at larger establishments. Entertainment is offered every evening, with some acts better than others, but all are very entertaining, and try their best to get every guest involved, There is a large variety of branded drinks on offer at the bar and all the bar staff are well versed, and proficient at making any cocktail you may request. Red, white and rose (my favourite) wines are available by the glass in the restaurant and are regularly topped up by the waiting staff along with chilled fresh drinking water. Our wedding anniversary fell during our stay, and a card, along with a bottle of chilled sparkling wine was delivered to our room, Also on my birthday when we went down for dinner I was confronted with a reserved table with yet another card, balloons and another bottle of chilled sparkling wine. During the second week of our stay, the manager invited all the guests to a meeting to explain that certain minor repairs were needed to the pool and the restaurant roof.We feared the worst at first, but these fears were allayed, as the pool and restaurant remained open and completely functional throughout, and disruption was kept to a minimum. Even so, the management had made contingency plans, and opened a bar at a hotel some five hundred yards along the beach, with the option to use their pool. Boats were even provided to transport guests from one hotel to the other if required. If you are looking for a hotel in Barbados with a perfect location, wonderfully pleasant and friendly staff, with excellent food and a magnificent all inclusive package, look no further than Mango Bay. For as Marcia, the restaurant manager said on our leaving " you must come again, you are part of our family now" I for one will not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Room 427 De luxe fourth floor with pool and sea views
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank denanjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,594)
There are newer reviews for Mango Bay All Inclusive
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 942 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

Fantastic hotel. From the minute we arrived the customer service was exceptional. On arrival we were given rum punch which went down a treat after the flight. The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff were very friendly, couldn't do enough for us. The beach was never crowded, only 10 - 15 people on it at the one time which was fantastic, plus all the free water sports the hotel has, including the water skiing. The food was great and a variety of courses to choose from.for lunch and dinner. The high tea at 4.30 pm everyday with the scones and sandwiches made us feel at home. The beach and area around the hotel is beautiful, was like being in paradise, the only thing being is the frogs at night would make a lot of noise but nothing to worry about. Can see why so many people return year after year, will go back to Mango bay if we were ever to go back to Barbados. Hotel is situated 30mins from Bridgetown, if you want to visit Bridgetown try the local Reggie bus its worth the ride. A MUST IS THE COCONUT CREAM COCKTAIL you'll drink it all holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed here in the 2nd week of a 2 week stay after a week in the The Palm Garden (separate review).

We thought all the staff were very professional and did all they could to make our stay enjoyable.

As the resort is small there is quite a bit of late night noise from the bar and as a lot of the rooms are close to it then this can be noisy late at night. We asked to move rooms and this was sorted quickly and efficiently.

Food was about average, maybe a little better.

In comparison to Rendezvous in St Lucia which is a similar price which we stayed at last year we thought while the location was more convenient the resort was not quite as good.

Room Tip: Rooms in the block near the entrance are probably best but they do have a karoake session at an outs...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alandnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This was our first holiday together, booked last minute on a bit of a budget - our wish list was:
1. Somewhere hot
2. All inclusive
3. Hotel on the beach
4. Somewhere we weren't tied to the resort and could experience the locals and their culture
Mango Bay seemed to tick all of these!

On arrival, we were greeted at the airport with private transfer to the hotel, where we received rum punch and a brief of the hotel facilities.

We arrived late afternoon after a long flight and a little too much complimentary drinks to calm the flying nerves (purely medicinal purposes!), we were shown to our rooms to freshen up for dinner. There is only one restaurant which is al a carte in the evening but buffet style or limited menu during the day. We entered the restaurant and waited to be seated, only to be told (after being 'looked up and down' that JEANS WERE NOT ALLOWED and that our options were room service or not eat... this was a little unfortunate as jeans were all that my boyfriend had packed - not scruffy or cheap jeans, but still not good enough to wear to dine in this 'average, one restaurant hotel' - we opted for room service and waited at the bar, however a waitress did come over and suggest that we could have a separate table made up on the 'board walk' (outside the restaurant boundary) and eat our dinner there. (It does clearly state on the webite that the dress code for the restaurant in the evening is trousers and shoes, however we thought that this was just to stop any shorts / vest tops / etc.... and that it wouldn't be adhered to so strictly!!). This worked out to our advantage as we had exclusive dining rights on the board walk closer to the shore with our own candle lit table - we therefore recommend that you wear jeans and get preferential treatment as long as you can handle being walked through the restaurant and then out the other side passed all the 'doo gooders' in their trousers and shoes - that said we did have couples asking us how to get a table on the board walk as it looked a lot more romantic than their setting inside!

Restaurant fiasco diverted - dinner was OK, but then after aeroplane food most meals would be... feeling tired and with a hangover from the plane drinks kicking in, we went back to the room.

The bedrooms were clean and fairly spacious, but need updating. The bed was big and comfortable and the rooms airconditioned with ceiling mounted fans - which we had on all the time and were a must. We had a ground floor room with a large balcony area which led directly out to the swimming pool which was ideal and we would recommend that you ask for a ground floor room towards the back of the hotel for this reason (the rooms at the front of the hotel looked over a street - which on a Sunday evening was loud, with a carnival atmosphere). That said, Sunday nights just outside the hotel on Second Street is Karaoke night - full of locals and tourists mingling, singing, drinking, dancing and generally having a good time - everyone was very friendly and the atmostphere was not threatening at all... you may be offered drugs, but a polite decline is enough to ward them off. The in-hotel entertainment was pretty poor and some nights didn't exist at all, so we felt the need to venture out.

There are several trips both day and night time which can be arranged through your rep, we did the following:
1. Harbour Lights - situated in Bridge Town. We were collected from the hotel at 6.00pm and taken to a bar / club / bbq grill on the beach. There was live 'Barbadian Style' entertainment, and for a set price all drinks and bbq, including return taxi was included - this was a pretty good evening, but very Touristy and we were ready to go back to the hotel by the time the transfer turned up.
2. Katamaran and snorkelling with the turtles - this was included within our holiday package at no extra cost. There was about 30 of us collected from the beach just infront of the hotel and we sailed out to where the turtles were and then snorkelled with them, which was amazing. The trip lasted about 2 hours and there was no shade, so be warned if you have 'THAT SKIN'... you will burn!

Prior to going to Barbados we were recommended a restaurant called Tides. We asked our rep to book us a table and luckily it turned out that it was only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We have been fortunate enough to eat in many nice restaurants in the UK and this was definitely up there with the best of them, with an amazing view of the sea-front, great wine list, delicious food (mainly fish, but I had the steak which for a fish restaurant was cooked to perfection). We would highly recommend that you visit this restaurant.

There is an amazing shopping centre opposite the hotel, with Cartier, Gucci, Louis Vuitton and many more... men beware, do not let your girlfirens loose with your credit cards! There is a champagne cocktail bar in the middle of this shopping centre which was great - so great in fact that we went out for dinner one night and never made it past the bar.... There is a piano bar just outside the hotel called Lexy's, this was ok but a little quiet.

The hotel itself had all the amenities and we were suprised and impressed to find out that the water skiing was free - you had to pay for jet ski's and other motorised water sports but the guys on the beach gave a fair price. You should expect to pay no more than 100BDS for 30 minutes. The beach was clean, but it is a public beach so you do get the locals trying to sell various 'local produce'.

The bar was free all day and manned until midnight, but the service wasn't great - waiting 10 minutes at a dead bar for a drink was a bit of a liberty... be warned if you like a nice wine, then bring your own because there very limited choice of wines were all sweet and nasty tasting! Thank god for the cocktail bar over the road and Tides.

All in all, we had a lovely holiday (but that was probably more to do with the company than the surrouondings). We thought the hotel was clean and had everything you need but that it was a little tired and could do with updating.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room at the rear of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank XSandMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

After getting married in New York the previous week, Mango Bay was the perfect place for a wonderful honeymoon. From the fantastic food, great range of drinks, spacious rooms to the really helpful and friendly staff, it really was everything we could have wanted. Sitting having breakfast overlooking the small but ideal beach was a grat start to every day. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break away from it all. We will certainly be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T90aly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
0.8 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
22.8 km away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,548 reviews
1.1 km away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
3.7 km away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#6 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,818 reviews
5.0 km away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#4 of 26 in Saint James Parish
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range: RM1,363 - RM2,784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing