We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Divi Heritage(Saint James Parish)
US$123
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa All Inclusive(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$354
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$344/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

All Seasons Resort Europa(Sunset Crest)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$503
US$450
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Royal Pavilion(Porters)(Great Value!)
US$416
US$371
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,742)
Filter reviews
1,742 results
Traveller rating
1,051
460
144
54
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,051
460
144
54
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstandard roomglass bottom boatlunch and dinnercatamaran tripwater skiingsmall hotelcold towelsthe penthouserum punchfree catamaranocean frontwaitress servicestreet partybar staffevening entertainmenta la carteour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 1,742 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Superb holiday !
Miss Elisabeth is the hotel manager and deserves huge credit for making this hotel somewhere to return to.
We stayed from 26th June to 4th July and had a fabulous holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and helpful staff. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and really appreciated the bottle of champagne and room decorations.
Do go for the ocean front rooms, fantastic sea views especially at sunset. The beach is wonderful and because the hotel is relatively small and so friendly you will soon be sharing sun downer cocktails with other guests standing waist deep in the sea.
The all inclusive option works well, we had no need to eat elsewhere during our stay.
If you are after casual relaxation, good food, rum cocktails, great beach and quality service then don't delay, book it.
We have already booked for next year.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth A, Hotel Manager at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Jon M

Many thanks for taking the time to share your Mango Bay review! It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed a fantastic holiday with us.

I am delighted to know that your highlights included our beautiful beach, the all inclusive option, our good food, rum cocktails and quality service. Your comments will be shared with all. Thank you sincerely for mentioning my name, I always love to make my guests happy and enjoying their holiday at Mango Bay in Barbados.

A massive thank you for making Mango Bay your choice of accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for yet another excellent holiday!

Warm Regards
Elisabeth Alleyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

First, the good points:

Good location - easy walk to Holetown, other hotels, restaurants, shops etc.
Excellent beach
Most of the staff (especially housekeeping)
Food (once you get used to the school meal culture)
Included watersports
Nice room and great bed

And the not so good:
Noise. This is a small hotel which tends to attract quite a rowdy crowd. The place is old and not properly sound proofed - our room had nothing but an ill-fitting sliding door between us and the bar below. If you're at all noise sensitive you will be affected. We could literally hear every word from the bar which is only a few metres away. Plus the entertaiment stops at 2300 - that's late by local standards (for the second week we moved and the music there stopped at 2130). Some people like to stay up late drinking - fine, not a problem but the bar is too close and there's no sound proofing. On the first night we complained at 0120. The night manager spoke to the drinkers but the noise just got worse. In fairness the GM did listen to our complaints and sent maintenance to improve the sliding doors. Bar staff were told not to serve after midnight. There was a slight improvement but standards soon slipped again. The GM will doubtless respond below saying that they don't have a noise issue and return rates are high etc. Believe me - we spoke to quite a few unhappy guests who we often saw at our second hotel. There is a problem.
Service. It's very patchy. On the last night we waited 1 hour and 35 minutes for our meals. More often than not our drinks orders were overlooked so we had to go to the bar to collect. When it's busy (e.g. UK summer holidays the hotel is full) expect slow and indifferent service from some staff (others are fine).
Dress code. Why? This is not a fine dining experience (far from it). We ate at the Tides and Lone Star where shorts are welcomed. Why try to make Mango Bay something it's not? It's an all-inclusive hotel at the lower end of the spectrum.
Overall look. The hotel is showing its age in parts. Some of the furniture is decidely shabby. My wife likes to take a bath but I cannot believe that anyone would use the bath - it was really grubby.
Wi-Fi. Shocking to the point of useless, even in the common areas. Tip - take advantage of Discovery Bay's excellent wi fi next door.

Thank goodness we'd booked a two-centre holiday. The difference in the hotels was huge on every level. We were so affected by the noise issue that we asked to move hotels after a couple of days. However, the owner would not agree - any move would have to be at our expense. This left us with a sour taste - we were effectively held against our wishes.
Ultimately, this hotel will continue to suit many visitors. But we will never return (for context purposes we've been visiting Barbados for 30 years and never had any problem anywhere else - we know what is a reasonable standard to expect). However, the repeat visitors on which it relies will start to fade away and if standards continue to fall there will be no one to replace them.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DACallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 August 2017

Dear DACallow

Thank you for providing your feeback about your stay at Mango Bay Hotel. It was our pleasure to have you with us for the week you stayed with us. I am delighted to read that you were pleased with our staff, with the bed in the room, the food, that you enjoyed our water sports and activites.

Every guest's expereience is important to us as we strive for the finest in service and facilities.
Unfortunately during your stay, we fell short of our goals and your expectations. For this I apologize.

I understand your level of dissatisfaction from the points you have mentioned in your correspondence. I regret that you feel this way and trust me when I say, that everything you shared will be looked at to see what can be done in the areas that needs to improve in the levels of service and facilities that we are offering.

Thoughtful feedback is a gift and we thank you for taking the time to share it with us.

Again, me and the entire team want to thank you for staying with us and we apologize for the inconveniences experienced.

Thank you again and have a great day,
Warm Regards
Elisabeth Alleyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Staff are amazing - really superb and can't do enough for you.
Location as regards everything locally and amazing restaurants plus Bridgetown is perfect.
We booked a standard - huge mistake. Don't make the same mistake and be sure to book a premium room ( we complained and were given an upgrade which we paid for but following further issues with the newer room, the upgrade charge was refunded). The hotel needs major investment and whilst we wouldn't return to this hotel, the location is superb.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank EstelleW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth A, Hotel Manager at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear EstelleW72

Many thanks for taking the time to share your Mango Bay review!
Your comments are extremely important to us as we constantly strive to exceed our guests' expectations.

I am delighted to know that your highlights included our wonderful team members and our excellent location. Your comments will be shared with all.

Thank you for your feedback on your accommodation and that you feel the hotel is in a need of a major investment. Your comments are very important to us and will be discussed with our team.

Warm Regards
Elisabeth Alleyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have 2 penthouse suites. We were due to go to a different hotel but it wasn't finished being built and were moved to the mango bay which we knew a few months before. This was our lucky day I think with this hotel.
The views from the balconies were amazing of the beach and ocean. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival, rooms perfect. Clean pool towels put in your room everyday. Lovely touch.
You booked in for lunch and dinner at breakfast, sometimes formal (boys beware take long trousers and collars!) sometimes buffet. Sat with beautiful views of the beach. Excellent variety of food, lovely presentation. All drinks available all inclusive. Afternoon tea if you had any space!
Water sports for free, water skiing, kayaking, snorkelling, glass bottom boat trip and catamaran trip. Opportunity to pay for jet skis and scuba diving.
We did a jeep safari trip out too. Got to see the island.
Always able to get a sun bed which is fabulous!
Our only negative was 2 children getting ear infections probably from the swimming pool. Please just make sure management all pool cleaning is done properly as this did cause a few days out of the holiday for my children and a trip to the medical centre.
Otherwise truly a wonderful hotel in the beautiful Barbados.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank LisaMcbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We had a great honeymoon at the hotel in one of the ocean view rooms. We could just walk out of our room and straight onto the beach.

The food was delicious and there was lots of choice and the service was excellent. Would highly recommend the hotel if you want somewhere special!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Sozzle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 August 2017

Dear Sozzle27

Thank you so much for your nice and warm words about Mango Bay Hotel. It was a pleasure having you on your specail occasion and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
We are very privileged in the fact that the beach is right in front of the hotel and you can just get right in the water when you want, no need to go far.

We were delighted to be able to provide you with excellent service and delicious food.
Until we meet again have a great summer.

Best Regards,
Elisabeth Alleyne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews