We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Mango Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Actually our visit was in 2016 but I've difficulty logging in to Trip Advisor. This was our second visit to Barbados and our first to Mango Bay. We had visited friends, who were staying at Mango Bay the previous year and liked the look of it as well as its beautiful position on the west coast, so we gave it a try.

This is the first review I have ever completed on Trip Advisor but our stay was so wonderful, I felt I must say something!

The staff were always friendly and helpful, needless to say we got to know the bar staff very well and nothing was too much trouble. The food was consistently superb and being an all inclusive hotel, we were pleasantly surprised that the majority of time lunches and dinners were cooked to order from realistic sized menus. We stayed with another couple and she was strictly gluten free, again the restaurant were consistently helpful at all meals, she was so well looked after.

The hotel is right on the beautiful beach with great snorkelling just a few yards off the shore. The sun beds were very comfortable.

The two things which speak volumes about our stay are that we will be back and we have recommended to other friends who have since stayed at Mango Bay on their first trip to Barbados and they loved it as well!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
There are newer reviews for Mango Bay All Inclusive
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Superb holiday !
Miss Elisabeth is the hotel manager and deserves huge credit for making this hotel somewhere to return to.
We stayed from 26th June to 4th July and had a fabulous holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and helpful staff. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and really appreciated the bottle of champagne and room decorations.
Do go for the ocean front rooms, fantastic sea views especially at sunset. The beach is wonderful and because the hotel is relatively small and so friendly you will soon be sharing sun downer cocktails with other guests standing waist deep in the sea.
The all inclusive option works well, we had no need to eat elsewhere during our stay.
If you are after casual relaxation, good food, rum cocktails, great beach and quality service then don't delay, book it.
We have already booked for next year.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

First, the good points:

Good location - easy walk to Holetown, other hotels, restaurants, shops etc.
Excellent beach
Most of the staff (especially housekeeping)
Food (once you get used to the school meal culture)
Included watersports
Nice room and great bed

And the not so good:
Noise. This is a small hotel which tends to attract quite a rowdy crowd. The place is old and not properly sound proofed - our room had nothing but an ill-fitting sliding door between us and the bar below. If you're at all noise sensitive you will be affected. We could literally hear every word from the bar which is only a few metres away. Plus the entertaiment stops at 2300 - that's late by local standards (for the second week we moved and the music there stopped at 2130). Some people like to stay up late drinking - fine, not a problem but the bar is too close and there's no sound proofing. On the first night we complained at 0120. The night manager spoke to the drinkers but the noise just got worse. In fairness the GM did listen to our complaints and sent maintenance to improve the sliding doors. Bar staff were told not to serve after midnight. There was a slight improvement but standards soon slipped again. The GM will doubtless respond below saying that they don't have a noise issue and return rates are high etc. Believe me - we spoke to quite a few unhappy guests who we often saw at our second hotel. There is a problem.
Service. It's very patchy. On the last night we waited 1 hour and 35 minutes for our meals. More often than not our drinks orders were overlooked so we had to go to the bar to collect. When it's busy (e.g. UK summer holidays the hotel is full) expect slow and indifferent service from some staff (others are fine).
Dress code. Why? This is not a fine dining experience (far from it). We ate at the Tides and Lone Star where shorts are welcomed. Why try to make Mango Bay something it's not? It's an all-inclusive hotel at the lower end of the spectrum.
Overall look. The hotel is showing its age in parts. Some of the furniture is decidely shabby. My wife likes to take a bath but I cannot believe that anyone would use the bath - it was really grubby.
Wi-Fi. Shocking to the point of useless, even in the common areas. Tip - take advantage of Discovery Bay's excellent wi fi next door.

Thank goodness we'd booked a two-centre holiday. The difference in the hotels was huge on every level. We were so affected by the noise issue that we asked to move hotels after a couple of days. However, the owner would not agree - any move would have to be at our expense. This left us with a sour taste - we were effectively held against our wishes.
Ultimately, this hotel will continue to suit many visitors. But we will never return (for context purposes we've been visiting Barbados for 30 years and never had any problem anywhere else - we know what is a reasonable standard to expect). However, the repeat visitors on which it relies will start to fade away and if standards continue to fall there will be no one to replace them.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DACallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 August 2017

Dear DACallow

Thank you for providing your feeback about your stay at Mango Bay Hotel. It was our pleasure to have you with us for the week you stayed with us. I am delighted to read that you were pleased with our staff, with the bed in the room, the food, that you enjoyed our water sports and activites.

Every guest's expereience is important to us as we strive for the finest in service and facilities.
Unfortunately during your stay, we fell short of our goals and your expectations. For this I apologize.

I understand your level of dissatisfaction from the points you have mentioned in your correspondence. I regret that you feel this way and trust me when I say, that everything you shared will be looked at to see what can be done in the areas that needs to improve in the levels of service and facilities that we are offering.

Thoughtful feedback is a gift and we thank you for taking the time to share it with us.

Again, me and the entire team want to thank you for staying with us and we apologize for the inconveniences experienced.

Thank you again and have a great day,
Warm Regards
Elisabeth Alleyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Staff are amazing - really superb and can't do enough for you.
Location as regards everything locally and amazing restaurants plus Bridgetown is perfect.
We booked a standard - huge mistake. Don't make the same mistake and be sure to book a premium room ( we complained and were given an upgrade which we paid for but following further issues with the newer room, the upgrade charge was refunded). The hotel needs major investment and whilst we wouldn't return to this hotel, the location is superb.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank EstelleW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have 2 penthouse suites. We were due to go to a different hotel but it wasn't finished being built and were moved to the mango bay which we knew a few months before. This was our lucky day I think with this hotel.
The views from the balconies were amazing of the beach and ocean. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival, rooms perfect. Clean pool towels put in your room everyday. Lovely touch.
You booked in for lunch and dinner at breakfast, sometimes formal (boys beware take long trousers and collars!) sometimes buffet. Sat with beautiful views of the beach. Excellent variety of food, lovely presentation. All drinks available all inclusive. Afternoon tea if you had any space!
Water sports for free, water skiing, kayaking, snorkelling, glass bottom boat trip and catamaran trip. Opportunity to pay for jet skis and scuba diving.
We did a jeep safari trip out too. Got to see the island.
Always able to get a sun bed which is fabulous!
Our only negative was 2 children getting ear infections probably from the swimming pool. Please just make sure management all pool cleaning is done properly as this did cause a few days out of the holiday for my children and a trip to the medical centre.
Otherwise truly a wonderful hotel in the beautiful Barbados.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank LisaMcbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
0.8 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
22.8 km away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,549 reviews
1.1 km away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
3.7 km away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#6 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,818 reviews
5.0 km away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#4 of 26 in Saint James Parish
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range: RM1,342 - RM2,781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing