We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHF 70._ Charming former monestary with good WiFi”
Review of Kloster Dornach

Kloster Dornach
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kloster Dornach
Ranked #1 of 4 Dornach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2014

This former Capucin monestary - as stones throw from the train station - has been remodelled into a simple and inexpensive hotel with lots of charm. The rooms have not numbers but names like, "Vertrauen" (Confidence), "Liebe" (Love) etc. The WiFi works fine. The only down side is the bathrooms and showers outside the room but on the same floor. After all it used to be a monestary and there is not enough room to integrate a full bathroom into each room. Slight noise from trains but it didn't disturb me. I loved this unique hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Swiss_MnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Being a former convent, it was rather spartan. Being a hostel, we had to use bathrooms across the hall. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms big and modern. The included breakfast was meager, but they did have freshly baked croissants each morning! We only received one thin bath towel each - no hand towel or washcloth. It was the only place we stayed in all of Switzerland who charged us for wifi (CHF 5 per day per device!!!) I couldn't believe it! We were there over the holidays and it was relatively quiet with very few guests. The best thing about it was its location - right across the street from the train/bus/tram station which was extremely convenient. And it was within walking distance of the Goetheanum where we attended a conference.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sanguinewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed there after a party, so I asked a late checkout with no extra charge, when we checked out 11h30(half an our later than normal) the lady at the reception asked me CHF 40.- more!!! I told her it was arranged with no extra cost until 1 pm with the manager, on that she replied it was not true and we had to wait 20 min until the manager came and recognized it was true! The worst was the shameless attitude of these people, no excuses, no sorry words! I was deeply disappointed, because in that kind of place one expects a more professional attitude!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikiSampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This place was "ok". It used to be a nuns home. Staff is friendly, bed and bathroom is clean. Bathrooms are separate in the hallway.Not inside the room! Beds are single beds. So we had two separate beds. However, everything was clean. Breakfast is included. The Dornach station for tram and train is just in front of the hotel Kloster Dornach. The tram takes 25 minutes to the Basel city.There are trams every ten minutes.
We just chose this one because the prices of hotel were ridiculous high in Basel because we came in an inconvenient time. They had a very important exhibition.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfreaks2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Kloster Dornach is beautiful in its simplicity. Good food, pleasant grounds to walk and reflect, a good place to get away from the noise and rush of life. The beds were comfortable, the shared bathrooms were modern and clean. It is a perfect place if you are looking for quiet charm. Our family stayed here during a reunion.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joloo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kloster Dornach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kloster Dornach

Address: Amthausstrasse 7, Dornach 4143, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Solothurn > Dornach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dornach
Price Range: RM 407 - RM 603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kloster Dornach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kloster Dornach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing