We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful setting”
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We spent two nights here in beautiful surroundings. The room was very well appointed with great views. The hotel is in the middle of some great cloud forest treks so it's ideal for nature lovers. Plenty of birds to be seen as well. The hotel restaurant was also quite good. I'd love to go back someday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank craighdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent 2 nights in "junior suites". Each could have slept two couples... This is the most remote of the lodging in the area - right within the rain forest and about 5+ minutes from town - most of the journey on unpaved roads. A very rustic feel.

Service was very good and breakfasts included were "OK" - not quite a full buffet.

No internet in the rooms.

The rooms were immaculately clean but the whole complex needs a 21st century update. We felt we were in a camp in the 1960s in the NE US.

Note that prices were cheap - off season.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoeHouston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We had a vintage, wooden lodge style room, which was very spacious. The grounds were charming and we grew to feel very much at home here. The resorts location is ideal if you are a keen adventurer. The Montrverde and Selvetura cloud forest resorts were a stones-throw away and a leisurely stroll into town revealed some hidden gems (restaurants/ arts shops etc) at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottocle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed two nights, with three children aged 10, 7 and 5. The hotel is a bit of a hippy retreat in the cloud forest, with sculptures in the beautifully kept gardens and a really tranquil feel. The junior suite turned out to be one large room with two doubles and a single and a separate bathroom, but it was clean and cosy (it gets chilly at night) and had a balcony overlooking the pool area. Breakfasts are good but since we always got there towards the end of the service, there didn't seem to be any food left and the staff would have to bring extras (which they did willingly). We also had lunch there one day which was overpriced and a bit disappointing in comparison with other places in costa rica. Wifi is only available at reception, which was a bit restricting too, hence the four stars rather than five. Staff were friendly and helpful though and It's a good location for experiencing the surrounding area and it's attractions.

Room Tip: You can have pizza delivered to your room by paying the taxi fair and it is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Perpetuallyjetlagged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had family group of 4 rooms for three days, two nights in mid-August. We liked the "feel" of the rooms. Most were large and each a little different. On clear day amazing view in which you can see part of Pacific ocean in far distance. The kids enjoyed the pool. We had lunch at the restaurant one day and it was good. Hotel staff was very good.

The slight negative is that it is a couple miles from town uphill and on a rough gravel road. Not near much. Also we were told by the hotel it would be an easy 15-20 minute walk from hotel to the Cloud Forest Park. It was more like 30 minutes mostly uphill. Was difficult walk for a couple folks in our group that were older.

Room Tip: If you don't have a car, will need taxi to get around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aschulman2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
2.4 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,151 reviews
1.9 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
272 reviews
1.7 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
265 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,388 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: RM542 - RM859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing