We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of its price”
Review of Punsisi Rest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Punsisi Rest House
Reviewed 8 February 2015

We stayed at room #27, a cottage up the hill. We paid LKR6500 for it which comes together with dinner and breakfast. Upon arrival we were greeted and were brought up to our room.
Room wise, it was rather old and really looked like it needs refurbishing. There's an old tv and towel rack/hanger. Mosquito netting for beds were installed. Bathroom was okay. Towels and toilet rolls were provided but no toiletries. My partner even found a leech on the toilet seat. Heater was functioning, only when the water volume was low. We decided to sleep with the lights on as we felt a bit eerie. Prayers could be heard at night.
Food wise, dinner was okay. The typical rice and curry with a meat dish, vegetables and fruits. Breakfast upon descent from Adam's Peak was not bad. We got a choice of either western (toast, marmalade jam, butter and juice) or local (string hoppers, dhall curry, pol sambol) which comes with coffee/tea. We eventually had both set to sample.
Location wise, it is about 10 minutes walk to the starting point. It's nearer compared to White Elephant Hotel, Slightly Chilled, Wathsala Inn, Achinika Holiday Inn and Blue Sky Guest House. It is also walking distance to Delhousie Bus Station and there are couple of food stalls and clothing/merchandize shops within the area.
Although staff were pretty friendly and it is close to Adam's Peak's starting point, this hotel was not up to par and didn't match the price paid for.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Donovan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2015

We booked one twin room after paying the total fee. The room had only two beds, not a single chair, no rack, hangers or even a dust bin.No soap or toiletries or absolutely nothing. Linen was provided.The room was B & B basis but had to ask for breakfast repeatedly. Made to climb up and down four floors saying the breakfast will be provided on the roof top and once at the roof top asked to go to the ground floor. Finally the breakfast was provided after 9.30 in the morning and that is only rice and lentil curry only. Mind you with no morning tea. Food is hopeless awful. The staff is very rude and arrogant. Do not recommend for anybody to stay even though the hotel is located very close to the entrance to the climbing point

Room Tip: Upper rooms have a beautiful view, But no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get two rooms at the top of the hill that punsisi rests upon. The views were absolutely amazing, the price was reasonable, the rooms were well equipped, bathroom needs a bit of a re-vamp but most places we stayed in Sri Lanka lacked a nice bathroom. I cannot reiterate how brilliant the views from our room were. The staff were more than welcoming and carried all of our bags up to our rooms for us (be warned there are MANY stairs) and were shocked when we carried our bags down ourselves when checking out! We gave the young lads a 200 ruppee tip (£1) and were shocked that we gave them anything at all! The dinner buffet was all traditional Sri Lankan, which was fine by us and was extremely tasty! Well recommended! Only downside was the amount of stairs we had to climb to our room after climbing Adams peak, but it was well worth it to have such great views and a great room! We were told they're getting a lift this year (2015) so I guess you won't even be able to complain about that!

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddison-lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015

The staff at Punsisi are friendly and welcoming. However the rooms are very basic with beds, pillows and linen really needing replacing. We climbed the many stairs to the rooms above the dining room. It was a fabulous balcony spot to see the sunrise while listening to the religious calls to prayer. The food was simple but of good quality. I would recommend staying here for Adams Peak climbers as it is as close as you can get to the start of the climb.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awannabefoodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015 via mobile

We have been there for just one night to climb Adams Peak.
The room was clean. Dinner and breakfast were nothing special but good. The Owner recommended us a very good Hotel in Kandy. So i would recommend this Place for everybody who wants to climb Adams Peak, reasonable price, clean and friendly.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maskeliya
30.9 km away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#13 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
228 reviews
0.4 km away
Slightly Chilled
Slightly Chilled
#1 of 13 in Nallathanniya
509 reviews
0.2 km away
White House
White House
#7 of 13 in Nallathanniya
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Adams Peak Inn
Adams Peak Inn
#1 of 6 in Maskeliya
50 reviews
0.0 km away
Grand Adam's Peak
Grand Adam's Peak
#3 of 10 in Nallathanniya
8 reviews
0.1 km away
Green View Guest Inn
Green View Guest Inn
#3 of 13 in Nallathanniya
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punsisi Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punsisi Rest House

Address: Adam's Peak, Maskeliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Maskeliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Maskeliya
Price Range: RM195 - RM286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Punsisi Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punsisi Rest House Hotel Maskeliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing