We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Vin-derful stay at Villa Claribes”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Gensac, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

WoodsFami...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vin-derful stay at Villa Claribes”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed for a week in July with our two boys and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves as there is much to do in the area.

Villa is lovely, contemporary styled interior with old stone walls lending French charm
Quietly located so promises restful sleep; located on working vineyard - tour is a must and purchases will be made!!!

Villa is handy for Bergerac and Bordeaux with st emilion and pomerol closeby - ideal for wine enthusiasts
Our boys loved the basketball in back garden and swimming lakes nearby and easy cycle to gensac for lovely meals / bakers and pizza van!

Definitely recommend!

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Hele...
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb stay in this lovely vineyard with excellent hosts”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Our stay at Chateau de Claribes was beyond our expectations. The setting was beautiful with vineyards in front of and behind our accommodation. Our breakfasts were accompanied by beautiful views over the valley in peace and tranquiity. The accommodation was spacious and well finished with very comfortable and luxurious facilities. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the vineyard and the wine tasting. Thank you Helen & Nick for such an enjoyable stay.
John, Helen & David, Northern Ireland

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of space and luxury in the accommodation
Liked least: Would have appreciated a washing machine on site.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinno
Hazel Grove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fine living, fine wines”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for first class accommodation in a beautiful, Idyliic setting then look no further than Chateau de Claribes. Nick and Helen have created the perfect holiday home for couples and families alike and are the perfect hosts with nothing too much trouble. The house is decorated to a very high standard, with excelllent bath and shower faciilities and is extremely well equipped with all modern amenities. There is also a wood burning stove with ample free log supply for those cold spring and autumn nights, although it was baking hot whilst we were there so we never had cause to light it! The added bonus of course is being able to stay within an award winning chateau and get the opportunity to drink their excellent wines and hear first hand about the wine making process from the owners, Nick and Helen, whose informative wine tours are second to none and their passion and dedication unsurpassed. The chateau is close to numerous pretty towns and villages, all with excellent restaurants, only a short drive away. The beautiful river Dordoyne is also only a couple of Kilometres away. The weather was so wonderful during our stay that I was quite happy to wander amongst the vines or sit reading a book in such a wonderfully peaceful setting. We can highly recommend Chateau de Claribes and will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Chilling with a glass of Rose and snuggling in front of a log fire.....a perfect recipe for relaxation”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013

I'm cooking dinner on Saturday evening and feeling so disappointed with the garlic I'm crushing...memories of our visit to Gensac in October come flooding back.....plump, juicy, garlic cloves and a wonderful French country kitchen to cook in!
We had a most enjoyable time at Chateau Claribes. Nick and Helen were perfect hosts:available whenever we needed them by phone or by knocking on the 'big house' door. The cottage was prepared to a superb standard, spotless, well equipped and very comfortable. Internet connection was easy and reliable. Cooking in the kitchen on the large open plan ground floor allows you to always be part of the conversations with other guests and the large dining table allows everyone to enjoy eating together. The wood burner, fueled will logs from the estate, and the selection of DVDs and books made "chilling" nights warm and cozy and you become very soporific after a couple of glasses/bottles of the very palatable chateau wine. The bedrooms are romantically French whilst being practical. The silence was precious and the views through the tiny windows quite amazing. The shower with its multi-function head was fabulous.
Sitting outside in the afternoon sunshine, chatting with Helen, enjoying the views of vines and the company of Bella, who became our surrogate dog, ticked all the boxes. The afternoon spent with Helen learning all about the whole process of wine making from planting vines to bottling the wine was, for us, fascinating.
The local shops were well stocked and there was so much to see. We wanted to relax and so didn't venture too far but we have so much we still want to do, so we need to return!
If you like France, excellent wine, good food, the countryside, culture, being looked after on a very personal basis, etc etc then this has to be 'right up there' on you holiday choices!

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newlinvie...
Coatesville, PA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tranquility in Wine Country”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Chateau de Claribes is situated in the heart of the Bordeaux Region wine country about 40 kilometers from the city of Bordeaux. Claribes is owned by Nick and Helen, Brit ex-pats who have devoted themselves to running a winery. Meticulously trimmed grapevines lush with grapes march off in the distance as far as the eye can see. The gite, or apartment, is attached to the end of the chateau complex and has been restored and modernized without destroying its historical integrity retaining the tile roof, stone walls, and massive interior beams. The downstairs is an open plan with a comfortable seating area and bookcase filled with an eclectic collection of books on one side and a dining area and modern kitchen on the other. The itchen is equipped with a refrigerator, stove and oven, dishwasher, and separate freezer. Utensils, dishes, glassware, flatware, and table linen are furnished.

The Chateau is very rural and tranquil but only a couple of kilometers from the quaint and picturesque village of Gensac which has a small supermarket where you can pick up the basics such as coffee, milk, juice, and sliced-to-order cheese and jambon. There's also a wonderful boulangerie where you can buy your morning croissants, pastries, and baguettes; 2 boucheries, although we never managed to find them open; and a couple of restaurants serving rustic French food, particularly duck confit a specialty of the region.

Claribes is a destination in itself if you're interested in just relaxing, reading, or hiking, but it is also in the center of the Bordeaux region with many attractions within driving distance. Helen has thoughtfully provided a notebook filled with suggested destinations, town and city market days, and restaurant descriptions in and around Gensac. Places of interest we visited during our week stay include the villages of Pessac s Durdogne and Castillon la Bataille, Castle Rauzan, the magnificent caves of Lascaux (a two-hour trip but worth it), Saint-Emilion, the market in Libourne, the Sauternes region, the city of Bordeaux, Bergerac and a boat tour on the Dordogne, and Jardins de Sardy. Of course, wine is a major reason for visiting the Bordeaux area, and there are many wineries open for degustiation or wine tastings. You may get to taste seveal wines, and it is polite to buy a bottle afterwards. Don't miss Helen's wine tour of Claribes. She is very informative and interesting as you learn about the quirks and rules about producing wine in Bordeaux.

In short, Chateau Claribes is an ideal spot to enjoy the beauty and bounty of southwest France.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and ambiance of the apartment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.