We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leu Bleu Austral(Saint-Leu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Mascarine(Saint-Leu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Lataniers(Saint-Leu)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cases Couleurs(Saint-Leu)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caz Oceane(Saint-Leu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Terre Du Sud(Saint-Leu)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
408
104
28
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
104
28
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall roomlocal ingredientswhole atmospherestorage spacewine listcharming hotelup hillmin walkthe hotel staffpool areabalconyenglishreunionbathtubkettlefrenchbirds
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2016

If you are looking for something special this is a lovely small hotel with individual service and beautiful views. The rooms have gorgeous furniture and freestanding baths with views over the sea.
Our room was on the corner of the building and had a gorgeous dual aspect.
Dinner is a special event - the food is superb, as is the wine list.
We stayed for 4 nights, and this was about perfect though it is a perfect base to see the island and thanks to Frederic for sorting out a lovely day sightseeing.

Room Tip: Top floor, corner rooms have gorgeous views.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah6441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

I would have rated 3.5 stars if possible.

We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Margouillat. It's a small hotel, very personal and feels private, which we liked. Two things that we didn't find ideal: at some days there weren't enough deck chairs around the pool for all the guests. It's not a typical "stay-in-and-enjoy-by-the-pool" hotel, but the management should be prepared for days like that too.

The other thing was the situation in the evening. The hotel has an excellent restaurant, which is open for public and very popular in St. Leu. We dined there once, but as we wanted to try out as many restaurants as possible, we didn't go there again. The staff started preparing the tables for the restaurants guests already around 4 pm, although it only opened at 7.30 pm. Which means that all around the pool area and in the garden there were set tables. This made the whole atmosphere quite unrelaxed and we didn't always feel quite welcome. I think in order to satisfy the hotel guests, it would be better to set the tables later.
Also, there was no possibility to hang out outside in the evening without dining at the Restaurant. There is an outside bar, but it wasn't open/staffed during our stay. Possibly before typical dinner time, but definitely not when we usually got back to the hotel by 9/10 pm. We found that quite a shame because we would have loved to enjoy a drink with the wonderful views at night.

Having said that, it is a wonderful little hotel. The rooms are great, the location is good. It should only focus a little more oh the house guests' needs though.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank 615tinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this charming boutique hotel. The food was stunning. We were told by a local guide that it had the best restaurant in Reunion and we can well believe this. We are not French speakers but the staff were charming and conversed in English. We had a suite below the swimming pool( one of 2) that had a special island flavour and was very private with views to the beach below. A wonderful experience

Room Tip: Suites ae special and quiet
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

This hotel was our base for two weeks and it felt like a second home from the beginning. The property is exquisite and stylish in an understated way with artwork from local artists. Foremost, all the staff seem genuinely interested in providing the best possible help to the guests - although this seems to be the way everywhere in Reunion island, everyone is really friendly!

The rooms are compact but cosy and very clean. We loved the breakfast, the plate of fresh fruit was always very tasty; in my previous experience dragonfuit is always tasteless but in Reunion it was delicious. After the first morning, the lovely staff knew whether we wanted coffee / tea / salted butter / unsalted butter. The attention to detail is very impressive.

The pool area is cleaned meticulously by the friendly gentleman every morning - it is a lovely pool but as extended guests we did not see many other people using it.

The restaurant is a destination in itself; Michelin standard food. We dined there twice, my favourites were the Reunionnaise snails and the tuna starter.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harrikush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

A truly wonderful place to be, delightful, quaint, charming, all of these things and more. The small size of this hotel ensures that you receive the attention and service you deserve. A beautiful setting, beautiful rooms, lovely warm fresh water pool and the distant sound of the waves crashing on the shoreline, not to mention the glorious sunsets. This hotel prides itself on its fine cuisine which I considered to be outstanding in every respect with fresh produce and delightful varied dinner menus. A comprehensive Wine menu was on offer, however I must add, at a price. I cannot recall ever having the Chef call us in our room on our last day requesting that he may send up canapés and champagne, so special, thank you. All the staff were truly excellent, professional in every respect. Finally I must pass on our special thanks to Frederic who after three failed attempts to experience the helicopter flight due to poor weather inland, managed to arrange a flight at 7 AM on our last morning prior to our 12.00 departure to Mauritius, he somehow managed to juggle our luggage and transfers with seamless efficiency ensuring this must see highlight tour was not missed, we could not be more grateful. Than you all.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickblangham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews