We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, great views, but the drinks and food are overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Leu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2016

To give some perspective to this, we normally stay in smaller guesthouses or little boutique hotels and this was the top end of what we usually pay. Obviously the setting and views are wonderful, and the staff were all incredibly helpful and charming. However, given the price we paid I did have some slightly negative comments. We had room number one, and the views from the balcony were partially blocked by all the trees - views from other rooms would be much better. The design of the room is slightly bizarre as the bathroom is up on decking in one part of the main room, separated by curtains, and it is easy to bang your ankle on the corner of the decking as you walk across the room. Ouch. They give you unnecessary freebies like silly hats and dried flowers, but have a list of prices for all the accessories with the name of the hotel on, as if they expect everyone to walk off with them. The shower gel was really runny (and was on offer at a massive 24 euros!) so we actually went out and bought soap! We had dinner the first night, and the chef made us a very nice vegetarian meal. However the cocktails were a massive 12 euros and we could not taste any alcohol in them! We didn't dare look at the wine menu! My main gripe is that they charged so much for extras - the laundry prices were ridiculously high, the mini bar was too expensive. We didn't have breakfast, because they charge 20 euros and I could not imagine what I could possibly eat that would justify 20 euros!!!! There are supermarkets in town - we bought our own food and ate it on our balcony!!! There is a kettle for coffee in the room. The setting for dinner is lovely, round the swimming pool, though they start laying the tables for dinner at around 5pm which is very uncomfortable if you want a swim. We booked dinner again on the last night, but felt the chef had run out of ideas for vegetarian options and it was not nearly as good as on the first night. So the pluses are the great location, the great views (but not from room 1), the great sunsets and the lovely staff. The negatives are that it honestly felt like they were trying to make money out of you with all the extras, and the cocktails are a real rip off. The only way we got a decent drink from the bar was to order gin without ice, and with the tonic separately. That way we managed to get a normal bar sized drink. It could be a wonderful place, but it felt like they were trying too hard to justify the price, and haven't got the hang of the understated, laid back charm we have found in other places. Out of interest, we went on from here and stayed at a wonderful place in Rodrigues, which was a similar price and got everything right.

Room Tip: Don't get room 1 as the view is obscured by trees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2016

If you are looking for something special this is a lovely small hotel with individual service and beautiful views. The rooms have gorgeous furniture and freestanding baths with views over the sea.
Our room was on the corner of the building and had a gorgeous dual aspect.
Dinner is a special event - the food is superb, as is the wine list.
We stayed for 4 nights, and this was about perfect though it is a perfect base to see the island and thanks to Frederic for sorting out a lovely day sightseeing.

Room Tip: Top floor, corner rooms have gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah6441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

I would have rated 3.5 stars if possible.

We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Margouillat. It's a small hotel, very personal and feels private, which we liked. Two things that we didn't find ideal: at some days there weren't enough deck chairs around the pool for all the guests. It's not a typical "stay-in-and-enjoy-by-the-pool" hotel, but the management should be prepared for days like that too.

The other thing was the situation in the evening. The hotel has an excellent restaurant, which is open for public and very popular in St. Leu. We dined there once, but as we wanted to try out as many restaurants as possible, we didn't go there again. The staff started preparing the tables for the restaurants guests already around 4 pm, although it only opened at 7.30 pm. Which means that all around the pool area and in the garden there were set tables. This made the whole atmosphere quite unrelaxed and we didn't always feel quite welcome. I think in order to satisfy the hotel guests, it would be better to set the tables later.
Also, there was no possibility to hang out outside in the evening without dining at the Restaurant. There is an outside bar, but it wasn't open/staffed during our stay. Possibly before typical dinner time, but definitely not when we usually got back to the hotel by 9/10 pm. We found that quite a shame because we would have loved to enjoy a drink with the wonderful views at night.

Having said that, it is a wonderful little hotel. The rooms are great, the location is good. It should only focus a little more oh the house guests' needs though.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank 615tinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this charming boutique hotel. The food was stunning. We were told by a local guide that it had the best restaurant in Reunion and we can well believe this. We are not French speakers but the staff were charming and conversed in English. We had a suite below the swimming pool( one of 2) that had a special island flavour and was very private with views to the beach below. A wonderful experience

Room Tip: Suites ae special and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

This hotel was our base for two weeks and it felt like a second home from the beginning. The property is exquisite and stylish in an understated way with artwork from local artists. Foremost, all the staff seem genuinely interested in providing the best possible help to the guests - although this seems to be the way everywhere in Reunion island, everyone is really friendly!

The rooms are compact but cosy and very clean. We loved the breakfast, the plate of fresh fruit was always very tasty; in my previous experience dragonfuit is always tasteless but in Reunion it was delicious. After the first morning, the lovely staff knew whether we wanted coffee / tea / salted butter / unsalted butter. The attention to detail is very impressive.

The pool area is cleaned meticulously by the friendly gentleman every morning - it is a lovely pool but as extended guests we did not see many other people using it.

The restaurant is a destination in itself; Michelin standard food. We dined there twice, my favourites were the Reunionnaise snails and the tuna starter.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harrikush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Leu
4.3 km away
Iloha Seaview Hotel
Iloha Seaview Hotel
#2 of 3 in Saint-Leu
763 reviews
12.5 km away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
2,661 reviews
33.7 km away
PALM Hotel & Spa
PALM Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Petite-Ile
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
420 reviews
10.4 km away
Akoya Hotel & Spa
Akoya Hotel & Spa
#4 of 5 in La Saline les Bains
499 reviews
26.5 km away
Lodge Roche Tamarin - Village nature
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel

Address: Impasse Jean Albany, Saint-Leu 97436, Reunion Island
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Leu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Leu
Price Range: RM967 - RM1,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a cosy and peaceful Creole mansion, over the Indian Ocean’s immensity and under its refreshing “Alizés”, entirely organised for rest, serenity and pleasure of the five senses.It is also a modern art gallery, presenting abstract painting, sculptures and potteries from local and European artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Margouillat Saint Leu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing