We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Leu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Overall very good but could make a few improvements which would make it outstanding. On the positive side very good location, food and rooms. On the negative side the bed was one of the worst I have slept on for a long time. Hard which I do not mind, but just not comfortable for some reason which I could not work out. The rest of our suite was excellent and would have been even better if the jacuzzi was hotter! Food was excellent, but if you were on half board as were, absolutely no choice for dinner, just starter, main and sweet as they had decided for that day. There was a another menu but you had to tell them the evening before if you wanted that, and you then did not know the set menu. It was also a lot more money. The hotel states free wifi but did not work at all the first day and then was patchy and very slow. Not acceptable. Staff very friendly and helpful but not many of them. Overall very good, but needed some more thought to make it outstanding.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Rodkoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at the hotel and found it wonderful. The staff were very helpful and the food was amazing! We visited at the end of August so it was still there winter. Dinning was outside and got a tad windy at times so I would recommend a cardigan or jumper although blankets were also provided.

The hotel is about 500m from the sea but the full 500m is up hill and as the sun sets at 7ish and there are no street lights unless you have a car or don't mind using taxis you will probably end up eating at the restaurant! The food is lovely if a tad expensive but well worth it!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We stayed in one of the suites. They are very nicely furnished, with care having been put into how they were designed. The small terrace and the hot tub are nicely private. The food was very good - definitely one of the THE restaurants on the island. The one issue we had was that the hedge in front of the suite had been allowed to grow too high. The manager promised to cut it back when we left but if you are booking one of the suites check they have indeed done this (otherwise the view is better from the upstairs rooms in the main house).

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lookingforperfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

A renowned restaurant with lovely rooms, the one thing that no brochure can tell you is just how far each and every member of the staff we came into contact with is prepared to go to help you enjoy your stay to the fullest. We had a late notice change of plan once we had arrived and asked for information. What was forthcoming was one of the best day's sightseeing I have enjoyed anywhere. It was the hotel who put us in arranged our guide (freddyavotreservice@gmail.com) and we both highly recommend this retired gendarme. As for the rest, any minor problems were swiftly and satisfactorily dealt with. A great stay made better by the staff.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms have better sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

The rooms are very nicely appointed (if a tad limited on hanging/storage space) - the in-room bath is a nice touch. The food was sublime - we opted for a half board which gives you a set 3 course menu plus appetizers and petites fours. During our stay of 7 nights the chef didn't put a foot wrong. Yes the drinks are pricey but consistent with the class of hotel and service in this area.
The hotel is set 500m from the sea front at St Leu. (be warned, it's a steep 500m!) the lagoon is beautiful; and don't forget your snorkel as it's full of marine life.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Leu
4.3 km away
Iloha Seaview Hotel
Iloha Seaview Hotel
#2 of 3 in Saint-Leu
760 reviews
12.5 km away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
2,658 reviews
33.7 km away
PALM Hotel & Spa
PALM Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Petite-Ile
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
416 reviews
10.4 km away
Akoya Hotel & Spa
Akoya Hotel & Spa
#4 of 5 in La Saline les Bains
497 reviews
26.5 km away
Lodge Roche Tamarin - Village nature
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel

Address: Impasse Jean Albany, Saint-Leu 97436, Reunion Island
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Leu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Leu
Price Range: RM974 - RM1,377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a cosy and peaceful Creole mansion, over the Indian Ocean’s immensity and under its refreshing “Alizés”, entirely organised for rest, serenity and pleasure of the five senses.It is also a modern art gallery, presenting abstract painting, sculptures and potteries from local and European artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Margouillat Saint Leu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing