Jakarta as a province is divided into 5 municipalities; Central, North, East, South, and West Jakarta. From the map, this division is named after its geographical location. Other than the 5 municipalities, there is the thousand island regency which lies north of Jakarta bay. In the outskirts of the city; there are several suburban areas; outside the West is Tangerang, outside the South is Bogor, towards the Southwest is Depok, and outside the East is Bekasi and hence altogether formed a bigger area often called 'Jabodetabek'.  

One neighborhood is the Central Business District (CBD) - A.K.A. Golden Triangle or "Segitiga Emas." This consists of the financial district (Jalan or shortform is Jl., which means Street Thamrin and Sudirman), and business and government buildings. High-end hotels, including Grand Hyatt, Shangri-La, Le Meridien, Intercontinental Mid Plaza, Sahid Jaya Hotel, etc. are located on the Sudirman/Thamrin strip. As for high-end shopping malls, Plaza Indonesia (and the EX), connected directly with Grand Hyatt, and Plaza Senayan are also on this strip. Three-in-one area during morning and afternoon rush hour - still very congested.

Kota area is the old city of Jakarta located in the north of Jakarta. Kota area is full of old ex-colonial buildings, now turn into museums, offices, and warehouses. However, the state of the buildings are in need of serious repairs and somewhat becoming an unfavourabe sights to tourists. Travelers are recommended to browse around the Fatahillah Square area where all the museums and other better maintained buildings are located. Also near the area are Glodok (Chinatown), Mangga Dua (wholesale center) and Ancol recreational park.