We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday cottage in Broughton-in-Furness

17 reviews
Save
Lowfield (guest accommodation on left hand side)
Lowfield
Take a scenic cruise on Coniston Water
1 of 21Lowfield (guest accommodation on left hand side)
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
1 bedroom
1 bathroom
2 guests
2 nights minimum
Cottage
Part of a larger residence, Lowfield is furnished in a contemporary style while retaining traditional features. Conveniently located in one of the Lake District's most attractive market towns, the accommodation enjoys a sunny aspect with rural views at the end of a quiet lane. Please note that this lane is not accessible by large vans or motorhomes. The private sitting room with wall-mounted TV, DVD player, hi-fi, Bluetooth speaker and log-effect electric stove is a cosy place to plan each day's trips. Luxuriate in the modern bathroom with its quadrant shower, bath and underfloor heating and then enjoy the comfortable double bedroom with its garden view. Outside, a small patio area with climbing roses, garden furniture and barbecue provides a relaxing spot to sit. The picturesque ...Part of a larger residence, Lowfield is furnished in a contemporary style while retaining traditional features. Conveniently located in one of the Lake District's most attractive market towns, the accommodation enjoys a sunny aspect with rural views at the end of a quiet lane. Please note that this lane is not accessible by large vans or motorhomes. The private sitting room with wall-mounted TV, DVD player, hi-fi, Bluetooth speaker and log-effect electric stove is a cosy place to plan each day's trips. Luxuriate in the modern bathroom with its quadrant shower, bath and underfloor heating and then enjoy the comfortable double bedroom with its garden view. Outside, a small patio area with climbing roses, garden furniture and barbecue provides a relaxing spot to sit. The picturesque Saxon church of St. Mary's can be seen, as well as a view of the Duddon Estuary. Breakfast items such as milk, cereals and bread are provided and there is a kitchenette with a gas hob, combination electric oven/microwave, fridge and breakfast bar with stools. Alternatively, It's only a short stroll to enjoy a meal at one of Broughton's award-winning pubs. Broughton also has a quality restaurant and two cafes to choose from while further afield there are many eateries from which to sample the local cuisine. Accommodation is all on ground floor and has gas central heating. Entrance into open plan living/dining area with oak flooring and original beams. Electric log-burning effect stove. Wall-mounted TV with integrated DVD player. Hi-fi with radio and CD player. Bluetooth speaker. Sofa. Dining table with chairs. Chess set. Tourist information and leaflets. Wi-Fi is also provided but please note that it is not possible to download films or use for similar high data downloads. Mobile signal is also patchy in our local area. An opportunity maybe to have a break from 24/7 accessibility! Open plan kitchenette with integrated electric oven and microwave, gas hob, sink, fridge, electric kettle, cafetiere and toaster. Breakfast bar with two bar stools. Good range of kitchen equipment and Denby crockery provided. Bathroom with original beams. Slate effect tiles with underfloor heating. Quadrant shower. Bath. Fitted WC and basin. Heated towel rail. Washing machine/tumble dryer in cupboard. Double bedroom with oak flooring and original beams. Built-in wardrobes. Garden view. No pets or smoking permitted. More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: No
No smoking inside accommodation or outside in garden area. Any damage or breakages to be reported ASAP. No loud noise (including music or TV) after 11 pm. Accommodation to be left clean and tidy on departure.
Bathrooms
1 Full bath
Show more
About the Owner
Annette C
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:November 2013
Write a reviewReviews (17)

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2019

If you have a chance to stay with Annette and Andrew in Lowfield, we would highly recommend you snatch up the opportunity. Everything from booking to departure was truly perfect. Lowfield is one of the best laid out accommodations that we have experienced. It has...More

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank dpl368
Getaway511871, VR Owner at Holiday cottage in Broughton-in-Furness, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

It was lovely to welcome you to Lowfield and to see how much you enjoyed staying here. We are delighted that you got some more Wainright summits ticked off and that you joined in (and helped out) on a community event. This was much appreciated...More

Reviewed 3 June 2019

Stayed here for the weekend while attending a wedding at the church 100 yards away (so perfect location)! The cottage had everything needed and was in a great spot only being 5 minutes walk to the village. The small village had lots of nice pubs...More

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Emjenja
Getaway511871, VR Owner at Holiday cottage in Broughton-in-Furness, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2019

I am pleased that you enjoyed your short stay at Lowfield. Yes, the accommodation is in a very handy location - both for any events at the church and for enjoying Broughton's great pubs, all of which are only a short walk away! We enjoy...More

Reviewed 27 April 2019 via mobile

The cottage was a lovely annex attached to the side of the hosts house. We were greeted upon arrival by the hosts and given a tour of the cottage, and we were made to feel very welcome throughout the entire stay. We were offered a...More

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank CallumB22
Getaway511871, VR Owner at Holiday cottage in Broughton-in-Furness, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2019

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Lowfield and that you found the location ideal for both sightseeing and hill walking. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I look forward to possibly welcoming you back in the...More

Reviewed 22 August 2018

Having somehow avoided the Lakes for some 40 years - goodness knows why - we were tempted back as a result of a Lancashire wedding. And were we delighted with our week's stay in Broughton? Accomodation for two was perfect with everything we needed to...More

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank rogercJ2264FX
Management response:Responded 25 August 2018

I am so pleased that you were delighted with your stay in Broughton-in-Furness. Locals believe that the Furness area is the relatively undiscovered gem of the Lake District. We have both mountains and coast and often better weather than the central and northern Lakes! I...More

Reviewed 12 August 2018

We needed somewhere to stay for the weekend i was due to run lakeland 50, it needed to be near to Coniston and preferably on one floor (no stairs!). The communication with Annette was great right from the start, any queries answered and she was...More

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank frogdr1ver
Management response:Responded 19 August 2018

Your comments on your weekend break at Lowfield are much appreciated. I am pleased that you found the accommodation clean and comfortable and well equipped. It was a pleasure to meet you and I was very impressed with your participation in the Lakeland 50! As...More

See more reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Our stay at Lowfield was very relaxing and we thoroughly enjoyed our walks in the beautiful area of the southern Lakes. Our host was very friendly and helpful and provided us with useful and interesting information. The accommodation was very cosy and well equipped and...More

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank Robin Charles S
Management response:Responded 15 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lowfield. I'm so glad you had a relaxing time in the accommodation as well as enjoying several walks in the local area. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I look forward...More

Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Was a lovely place and was perfect for what we wanted annette was a perfect host, with the added extras that enabled us to not have to go out for bits after travelling & offering her local knowledge and making sure we had everything, we...More

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Amanda s
Management response:Responded 1 May 2018

It was lovely to have you staying at Lowfield. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the accommodation and the little extras! You managed to fit a lot in and make the most of your short break which was great. I enjoyed chatting with you...More

Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 night, The cottage was perfect and the views stunning. All the facilities were available as advertised. The owners property adjoined our cottage and they were very welcoming. I would certainly recommend the property for anyone visiting the area,More

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Don W
Management response:Responded 26 April 2018

I am so glad you enjoyed your brief stay at Lowfield and had a chance to appreciate the area's beautiful landscape. It was lovely to meet and speak with you both and I hope you will be able make a return visit to the Lake...More

Reviewed 27 November 2017

My partner and i recently stayed at Lowfied. The flat is a seperate part of the main building where our hosts lived which meant any request or query we had was easily sorted. It is set in a quiet area with a lovely view across...More

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank claireappleton07
Management response:Responded 11 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely and enthusiastic review of the charms of staying at Lowfield! I am so glad you enjoyed the accommodation and found it warm and comfortable. It is also great that you made use of and appreciated Broughton's shops, pubs, restaurant and...More

Reviewed 4 October 2016

Spent a week at the cottage which we found peaceful and quiet even though it is in a busy village. Annette our host was very helpful and the little extras she provided were very much appreciated. The cottage was very warm and cosy.More

Date of stay: October 2016
Thank 982PaulR982
Management response:Responded 6 October 2016

So pleased that you enjoyed your week at Lowfield and found the accommodation comfortable. It was nice to chat with you both and to hear how your walks locally and further afield had gone. It is always rewarding to have such appreciative guests staying and...More

Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: No
DVD Player
Grill
Central Heating
Refrigerator
Hairdryer
Internet Access
Iron
Kettle
Linens Provided
Local Guides/Maps
Microwave
Parking
Shared Garden
Stereo System
Cooker
Toaster
Towels Provided
TV
Washer
Wi-Fi
Fishing Nearby
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Horse Riding Nearby
There Are Tennis Courts Nearby
Beach Or Lakeside Relaxation
Cycling Trips
Hiking Trips
Rural/Countryside Retreats
Short Term Rentals (4 Days Or Fewer)
See more amenities
Availability
January 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
February 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
March 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
May 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
June 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
View all months
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
Broughton-in-Furness is handily situated to explore the less frequented parts of the Lake District. Coniston Water and Coniston Old Man are but a half hour's drive away with museums and historic houses aplenty. Low level walks can be enjoyed such as around Tarn Hows or one in Broughton itself along a disused railway track. Cycling is also popular with a full set of mountain bike trails in nearby Grizedale Forest. There is a cycle hire shop in Broughton. The coast is close by with miles of beaches and dunes to explore, together with owl and wildlife sanctuaries. In the summer, many villages put on local showsHere you will get to see Cumberland wrestling, fell racing, stick making, sheep shearing and many other rural activities and skills
Getting around
A car is recommended since there is only a limited local bus service. However, there is a small railway station (Foxfield) one mile away. From here you can catch a train all the way up the west coast of Cumbria. But if you prefer a steam train to a diesel one, there is a choice of two lines within half an hour's drive: La'l Ratty running on a narrow gauge track from Ravenglass to Eskdale or Haverthwaite - a full size train taking visitors up to Windermere. Alternatively, keen cyclists can bring their bikes to challenge themselves on some scenic but steep roads!
More
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL2221149524