We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Exchange

12 reviews
Save
The Old Exchange
The Old Exchange
Hallway
1 of 32The Old Exchange
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
1 bedroom
1 bathroom
2 guests
7 nights minimum
Cottage
Dorset country cottage with self catering for two in Witchampton. Situated on the outskirts of the picturesque and historic village of Witchampton in the Vale of the River Allen. Much care was expended in converting this old telephone exchange into a relaxing holiday retreat for the discerning couple. Its location gives the best of all worlds - equally close to the Isle of Purbeck or the New Forest, and adjacent to Cranborne Chase - yet only ten minutes from Wimborne itself with its historic Minster and charming shops. The accommodation consists of one double en-suite bedroom, fully fitted kitchen, separate cloakroom, lounge with extensive views over the countryside. The property has a cosy oil fired central heating system and wifi. There is ample parking outside for at least two cars...Dorset country cottage with self catering for two in Witchampton. Situated on the outskirts of the picturesque and historic village of Witchampton in the Vale of the River Allen. Much care was expended in converting this old telephone exchange into a relaxing holiday retreat for the discerning couple. Its location gives the best of all worlds - equally close to the Isle of Purbeck or the New Forest, and adjacent to Cranborne Chase - yet only ten minutes from Wimborne itself with its historic Minster and charming shops. The accommodation consists of one double en-suite bedroom, fully fitted kitchen, separate cloakroom, lounge with extensive views over the countryside. The property has a cosy oil fired central heating system and wifi. There is ample parking outside for at least two cars. There is so much to do from here - walking, mountain biking, fishing, sailing courses, mooching and tea shopping, pub lunches, great restaurants ....or absolutely nothing and let the world roll by.More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: No
Bathrooms
1 Attached (ensuite)
Show more
About the Owner
Peter H
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:April 2013
Write a reviewReviews (12)

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2019

Returned to this lovely place for a second time, really cozy well equipped cottage in a wonderful peaceful setting. Property was clean and well equipped.I highly recommend this place for a peaceful break

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Wander767311
Management response:Responded 25 April 2019

We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your break at The a Old Exchange - hope to see you again in the future! Peter and Sarah

Reviewed 24 March 2019

My stay did not start off well unfortunately as I arrived after driving for 2hrs to an empty house and no-one in. Apparently the Holiday Lettings website had taken my booking and auto-booked it so the hosts didn't even know I was arriving. When I...More

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Anne S
Management response:Responded 4 April 2019

Dear Anne, thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. Unfortunately your stay did get off on the wrong foot as due to a booking error, you were able to book within 24hrs with no ability for us to confirm before acceptance. We...More

Reviewed 19 July 2018

Dorset's an area I'd previously crisscrossed repeatedly in multiple lengthy UK trips, but wanted to give the attention of a full cottage based week, As it turned out, the attention is well deserved and full of variable interests easily accessed with Witchampton seving as its...More

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank preglad
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Reviewed 20 May 2018

More

Date of stay: May 2018
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Having never explored Dorset I came upon this location online and booked direct with the owners who where incredibly friendly and helpful. The Old Exchange is a unique, quirky little retreat, nice living area, kitchen bedroom and bathroom with an additional WC with a private...More

Date of stay: October 2017
3  Thank Dan_1019
Management response:Responded 9 January 2018

Dan and Kirsty were great guests - so pleased they were able to take full advantage of the range of activities nearby - hope to see you again soon!

See more reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Last year we decided to make a trip to this years The Great Dorset Steam Fair, and needed a place to stay as close by as possible, and found The Old Exchange. Our luck was definitely in. Right from the start, Paul and Sarah made...More

Date of stay: August 2017
1  Thank Ray Y
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Very peaceful location with all you need for a comfortable stay. Peter was very helpful and has provided great maps to enable you to find all you need. Plenty of space for 2,and a second loo is a real luxury.

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank Margaret O
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
London, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

More

Date of stay: April 2017
Reviewed 17 February 2017

The Old Exchange is in a lovely quiet location, with everything that you need if you want to self cater, some good pubs nearby for food if you are feeling lazy. Warm and cozy place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2017
2  Thank Paul H
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Gorgeous cottage in stunning countryside, far from the madding crowd. Extremely relaxing and restful. Plenty of information in the property regarding places of interest etc. Owner, Peter, extremely helpful and charming. Highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: August 2015
3  Thank 117kathrync
Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: No
DVD Player
Central Heating
Refrigerator
Hairdryer
Internet Access
Iron
Kettle
Linens Provided
Microwave
Parking
Private Garden
Stereo System
Cooker
Toaster
Towels Provided
TV
VCR
Washer
Wi-Fi
Fishing Nearby
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Horse Riding Nearby
There Are Tennis Courts Nearby
Watersports Nearby
Cycling Trips
Hiking Trips
Long Term Rentals (Over 1 Month)
Rural/Countryside Retreats
Short Term Rentals (4 Days Or Fewer)
See more amenities
Availability
December 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
February 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
March 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
May 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
View all months
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
The cottage is at the southern end of the historic Cranborne Chase in the Vale of the River Allen, which is in itself a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). Witchampton itself nestles in the valley below The Old Exchange, and has a shop run by volunteers, a church and 'the club' which welcomes visitors for a pint in the evening. There are six country pubs within 3.5miles of Witchampton, all serving food Wimborne with its famous Minster is only a short drive away. It has a Waitrose, a Coop and many great pubs and restaurants. More information and links exists on our website
Getting around
We recommend use of a car as transport links to the property are infrequent. Wimborne and Poole have ample parking and excellent bus routes across Dorset. Train services from Poole to Wareham and Weymouth are also fun.
More
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL222426348